New Finds At LA Fashion Week


Jess Brown Foggy Day Sweater $495.00Jess Brown Trouser $238.00

Jess Brown Cafe Bowl Large $56.00Jess Brown Throw Size Quilt $585.00

Last Wednesday I sneaked into the last day of LA Fashion Week at A&D and Couer. I wanted to see what new designers I could find and what some of my old favorites were up to for Spring 2014. I was also lucky enough to get a chance to visit my dear friend, the lovely Erin Anderson, as she repped Jess Brown, A line whose beauty is in the simplicity of her designs and the quality of her fabrics. Jess is known for her handmade dolls which she began creating for her children 13 years ago. Hand dyed in Persian black teas to create variations in skin tones, and from old cashmere sweaters and antique remnants, no two dolls look exactly the same, and are as unique as children are themselves. I can’t wait for my girlfriend Chelsea to have a little girl so I can gift her one. She also has a capsule collection of house wares that I’m mad for!

Her clothing line is inspired by vintage flea market finds that she has collected and worn through out the years (mostly to they were threadbare). They have been redesigned with a modern touch, keeping the original aesthetic in mind. All pieces are created in Northern California making them that much more special!!

Jordan Louis Fall 2013Jordan Louis Fall 2013

Jordan Louis Fall 2013 Jordan Louis Fall 2013 2

During my day I peaked in on some of the lines more familiar to me, and saw great looks for next spring from Transit, Torn by Ronny Kobo, Laveer, Porter Grey and Sachin + Babi. I also discovered 2 new (to me) designers that I immediately crushed on. Kimberly Sherer’s New York based label, Jordan Louis, is not only new to me but the public as well – Fall 2013 was her first collection. But, she is not new to the fashion world, Sherer has plenty of designer experience having worked with John Varvatos and Nili Lotan.

Inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright, Kimberly describes her line as comfortable luxury which allows women to be “put together, elegant and comfortable”. Her sports wear has a sense of ease and its contemporary look is fresh and clean with just enough edge to keep it relevant in today’s market. She has an eye for fabric combinations (her leather/suede jeans are one perfect example) and the collection offers a broad range of silhouettes. One of her Spring standout looks is the high/low blouse paired with slim trousers that sit on the hip just right (lower left hand corner). Her fabrics are high in quality – the suede cargo pants (another standout) felt and looked like they would be heaven to wear (top left corner) – yet the collection maintains price points that live in the contemporary world. I have a strong feeling we’ll be seeing a lot more of Jordan Louis in the future!

A few looks from Spring/Summer 2014. Find a Jordan Louis store near you.

Jordan Louis  Spring 2013Jordan Louis  Spring 2013

Jordan Louis  Spring 2013  Jordan Louis Spring 2013

The other designer I fell for was GIMO’S. Their leather jackets are some of the best I’ve seen in a long, long time. Stay tuned for more info on them soon!!

Top Group Clockwise from top left: Jess Brown Foggy Day Sweater $495.00, Jess Brown Trouser $238.00, Jess Brown Throw Size Quilt $585.00, Jess Brown Cafe Bowl Large $56.00.

2nd group – Jordan Louis Fall/Winter 2013.  3rd Group – Jordan Louis Spring/Summer 3014.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a comment