Jenny Kayne’s Warm Modernism


Living Room

Kitchen

Master BathStudy

I’m helping one of my best friends, the fab jewelry designer — Cynthia Desser, move into their first owned home. They have a lot of work ahead of them, but I’m so excited for her and her family.

I know exactly how I want my first home to look. I’ve designed each room thoughtfully in my head a million times. Small details have changed from year to year, yet the main aesthetic has always stayed the same.

The look of designer Jenny Kayne’s home is exactly what I aim for. The less is more look (like her line of clothing) of her home is clean and modern without feeling cold. Reclaimed wood and natural stone elements give the modern architecture warmth and character, bringing out the softer side of modernism. Color is used sparingly through the home, and is found only in the art work and accessories.

I love the wood ceilings, and the wooden beams in the master bedroom. The wooden floor in the master bath lends the room a warm and cozy feel. And, one could get lost in the steel tub bath with its out-door view. The ever-so-serene outdoor living room calls for much entertaining, particularly since Kayne’s house is located in sunny southern California.

Master Bedroom

Children's Room

YardA la Fresco

Family Room

Photos courtesy of Architectural Digest.

 Check This Out

The Best of Last Week's Red CarpetPrada Fall 2015Frank Spacey In House of Cards

Leave a comment

Filed under Home decor

Leave a Reply

